Looking for good fishing hole this July

Forums Forums Public High Lakes Forum High lakes discussion Looking for good fishing hole this July

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author
      Travis Scudder
      Participant

Good Evening! I am new to the Hilakers and saw that there is a need for a survey at Lake Malachite! My friend and I are planning a backpacking trip to Malachite, Copper and Little heart. We are trying to keep it under 6 miles in and nothing to crazy. We will be on float tubes looking to catch some fish.

Can anyone share a promising area to fish in that is similar to the Foss Lakes area? Maybe a place that has a couple lakes in the area, around 50 acres in size?

Thanks!

Keith Peter
        Participant

I would look at getting above Trout Lake early in the day because as soon as the sun his the switchbacks above Trout Lake it can get hot. So drink lots of water. It’s a relatively easy hike since you are on trail. Spent a long weekend up there last summer in my rafts. Are you looking at fishing multiple lakes or heading to one lake?

Travis Scudder
          Participant

Keith,

We would like to do more than one lake if possible. Trying to see if there are any other recommendations for spots similar to Copper / Malachite where a small day hike can bring you to new fishing grounds while leaving camp set up at another lake.

Keith Peter
            Participant

Keep in mind that Malachite is a side trail off the main trail. So if you want to be away from the crowd then camp there. You are within easy hiking distance to Copper, Lil Heart, and Big heart. Don’t know if you plan on packing a raft but that will increase your chances of catching fish. This area does get hit pretty hard by hikers. Make sure you remove anything in your vehicle that might want to entice any riff raff to let themselves in your car.

Brian Curtis
              Keymaster

[quote quote=112561] Maybe a place that has a couple lakes in the area, around 50 acres in size?[/quote]